Dress Shop Home Page    livingsoftnw.groupee.net    Discussion List  Hop To Forum Categories  Dress Shop App  Hop To Forums  Dress Shop Topics    Printing full sized patterns
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Printing full sized patterns
 Login/Join

posted
Hi...I'm a newbie and still getting things straightened out.

The problem is that I can't get my printer to print full sized patterns--they come out as very pretty little tiny things.

I have a Canon Large Format W6200PG that prints from roll paper in a 24X36 size. I've followed the settings suggested in the DS8 manual, but they don't help any. I'm running it on Server2003/WinXP and the printer defaults are set correctly and no scaling is happening from that side.

I haven't had any problems using this printer with other pattern-making software--am I missing something magical here?

Thanks!

I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be. Douglas Adams (1952-2001)

Posts: 27 | Location: Seattle, WA | Registered: 28 December 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Make sure to set your scale of the pattern piece to 100%
look on the piece in 25% to see the total height of the piece ( ie front = 29 inch sleeve= 26 inches)

set the custom paper height for front to 1 inch ( or so..) greater than the pattern piece

print the piece, click next piece - it reverts to 25%, adjust scale to 100% -set the 2nd piece to 1 inch greater than pattern piece... or if you dont care about wasted paper set the paper length to 1 inch greater than the longest piece and print each at that paper length.

I do custom lengths for each pattern peice, print with black ink only and in quick draft for the majority of my patterns.

Your page set up must conform to your printer set up.yoyur custom papeper length must be preset to a length longer than your pattern peices at default- then you trim them down for each individual piece.